Social Awareness: Knowing the 17 Sustainable Development Goals  


We have to remember that we are not in this world alone. We have to think of our family, friends and the people around us. We have to ensure that their future is as beautiful as ours. This is the reason why United Nations introduced the 17 sustainable development goals.


The 17 sustainable development goals include (in order of importance):

  1. End poverty everywhere
  2. End world hunger and support sustainable agriculture
  3. Ensure healthy lives around the world at all ages
  4. Ensure and provide lifelong learning opportunities through quality education
  5. Achieve gender quality
  6. Ensure the availability of water and sanitation around the world
  7. Ensure that everyone has access to reliable and affordable energy
  8. Empower economic growth by providing employment opportunities for all
  9. Build strong infrastructure and nurture innovationdiag_fleur_DRIDD_650px_EN
  10. Ease inequality among countries
  11. Build cities that encourage safe human settlements
  12. Ensure sustainable consumption
  13. Take serious actions to battle climate change
  14. Protect oceans and marine resources
  15. Safeguard and restore ecosystems and manage the forests by fighting desertification
  16. Give way to access justice for everyone
  17. Fortify global partnership

The good news is that Singapore is one with United Nations in achieving its goals. On September 27, 2015, the Minister for Environmental and Water Resources, Vivian Balakrishnan spoke at the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Summit in New York City expressing Singapore’s support in achieving the goals.

The 17 goals are UN’s vision come 2030. Our part is to work with partners in providing technical assistance to developing countries in the fields of water and sanitation, governance and leadership.